Dashashwamedha Ghat, Varanasi, Boat view.
Dashashwamedh Ghat, Varanasi

Varanasi – the city of lights, this city contains two names, names that are connected to the holy Ganga, i.e., Varuna and Assi tributaries of Ganga flowing in this sacred city. Varuna is still flowing in the northern Varanasi and Assi today a small stream in the southern part of the, near Assi Ghat. If you want to see the old Varanasi, it is bounded by the northern shores of Ganga bounded by Varuna and Assi.

Varanasi –” the city of lights” is connected to almost every Hindu mythology. The most famous tale of this city Varanasi is that once there was a fight between Lord Shiva and Lord Brahma during the fight one of Brahma’s five heads was torn off by lord Shiva.

As per the custom, the victor carried the head of Lord Brahma in his hand as a sign of his own bravery. A bridle was also put into the lord Brahma’s mouth. Lord Shiva thus dishonored head Brahma’s head and kept it with him all the time at all times. It is said when he came to Varanasi in this state the hanging head of Lord Brahma dropped from lord Shiva’s hand and disappeared in the ground. Therefore, this is the prime reason Varanasi is considered an extremely holy site.

Why Varanasi is called the city of lights?

In the Rigveda, it is mentioned as an ancient Indian sacred collection of Vedic Sanskrit hymns, the city is referred to as Kasi from the Sanskrit verbal root kas – “to shine”, making Varanasi known as the “City of Lights”.

What Archaeological Survey of India says?

All these theories got four moons when the Archaeological Survey of India (A.S.I) in 2014 excavated and it is found that artifact dating back to 800 BCE. Further excavations at Aktha and Ramnagar, two sites in the vicinity of the city, unearthed artifacts dating back to 1800 BCE, supporting the view that the area was inhabited by this time.

This is not everything about Varanasi, many industries are running successfully in this city, the “Banarasi Sarees” are one of the best sarees in the country. This city is also the Lok Sabha constituency of our honorable Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi.  

 3,112 total views,  1 views today